Board of Directors

Richard Murley


Richard Murley studied law at Oxford University and began his career at Linklaters & Paines before moving into investment banking with Kleinwort Benson and Goldman Sachs. Following a two-year secondment as Director General of The Takeover Panel, he joined NM Rothschild & Son where he is a Senior Adviser. Richard is the Chair of Macmillan Cancer Support and a trustee of the Epilepsy Society and the Royal Society for Medicine, and is a member of the Medical Research Council and The Takeover Panel.

Graham Davin

Deputy Chairman

Graham was CEO of United Trust Bank from 2004 to 2020. He began his career at Arthur Andersen and was previously Chief Financial Officer and Head of Corporate Finance of Investec Bank and a main board director of Investec for 16 years. He was a founding partner of the Insinger de Beaufort Group and a director of its listed parent and its Dutch bank. He is the Senior Independent NED of The Foschini Group, a listed multi-brand international retailing group and Chairman of Optalitix, a fast growing software developer to the insurance, medical and bank sectors.

Harley Kagan

Chief Executive Officer

Harley Kagan is the Chief Executive Officer of United Trust Bank and a chartered accountant. He has held had a number of roles including leading the Banks’ lending businesses and Finance Director. He has worked extensively in banking and corporate finance, concentrating on acquisitions and disposals and was the Finance Director of the UK Operations of Insinger de Beaufort. He also worked as a strategy consultant with Cap Gemini.

Jonathan Ayres

Executive Director

Jonathan Ayres is the Chief Financial Officer of United Trust Bank, a position he previously held at C. Hoare & Co. and Ecofin. Jonathan qualified as a chartered accountant with Price Waterhouse where he specialised in banks and fund managers before becoming an equity analyst at Goldman Sachs. He studied Computer Science at Cambridge University. He is the Chair of UK Finance’s Specialist Banks Working Group and a member of the Legacy BBA Board.

Noel Meredith

Executive Director

Noel Meredith is a career banker. He joined Midland Bank after graduating from Cambridge University. He was previously at County Bank and Svenska Handelsbanken and has been at United Trust Bank for 19 years. He has extensive experience in corporate and property lending and heads the Development Finance team.

Maria Harris

Non-Executive Director

Maria Harris is the former Director of Intermediary Lending at Atom Bank and is now a consultant specialising in fintech and digital transformation in the financial services sector. Maria is a well-known and highly respected figure in the mortgage industry and was responsible for creating and launching Atom Bank’s disruptive and award-winning retail mortgages proposition. As a participant in a number of government and industry working groups, she continues to drive innovation in the home buying and mortgage sector. She is a Chartered Fellow with the Chartered Management Institute and holds supporting roles with NHS South Tees and Coadjute.

Andrew Herd

Non-Executive Director

Andrew Herd is the Managing Director of Lancashire Court Capital Limited, a London-based investment and consultancy business. He is Non-Executive Chair of VGC Developments Limited a UK leisure and gaming operator and a Non-Executive Director of Nexus Group Holdings Limited a property and publishing group. He is a chartered accountant and worked as a merchant banker for many years. He was Managing Director and Head of Financial Institutions at SG Hambros and held senior roles with Paribas Capital Markets and Morgan Grenfell.

Sarah Laessig

Non-Executive Director

Sarah Laessig is an experienced financial services senior executive and non-executive director. She had a 17 year executive career at Citigroup, managing businesses across developed and developing markets. Sarah is a NED on the boards of Local Pensions Partnership Invesments and is a Director of Citigroup (UK) Pension Trustees. Sarah was formerly a Commissioner on the Civil Service Commission, an independent regulator that oversees appointments to the Civil Service, and a Non-Executive Director of Valoot Technologies. Sarah holds an MBA from the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania and the Financial Times Non-Executive Director Diploma.

Michael Lewis

Non–Executive Director

Michael Lewis has been involved in investment management since 1983, having worked at Ivory & Sime and Lombard Odier. He is Chairman of Strandbags Holdings Pty Limited, The Foschini Group Limited and Oceana Investment Corporation Limited (UK). He is also a Director of ATR Brands Limited (UK), Lefic SARL and a number of charitable organisations.

Stephen Lockley

Non-Executive Director

Stephen Lockley is Chief Financial Officer of the international development organisation World Vision International. He is a chartered accountant with many years of experience in financial services and investment banking. During his career, Stephen has been the Group Finance Director of Arbuthnot Banking Group PLC, CEO of Arbuthnot Latham Private Bankers, CFO of VisionFund International, a Director at Charterhouse Bank and a Non-Executive Director of an investment fund and an insurance company.

Andrew Woosey

Non–Executive Director

Andrew Woosey is an experienced Board Member and Trustee with significant experience in financial services. He is currently a Trustee and Committee Chair on the boards of the Centre for Economic Policy Research and Tom’s Trust, and also a Member of the European Advisory Board – Adjoint Inc. Andrew is a Senior Advisor and Committee Chair for a number of Bain Capital LLP’s portfolio companies. Andrew was previously a partner at Ernst and Young,  is a qualified Chartered Accountant and graduated from Cambridge University.


Open your business account here

Open your ISA account here

Online Banking